K109 History 2010-11

The National Anthem

During the summer of 2010, construction workers uncovered a poem apparently written by a witness to battle that liberated Tieland. The poem read:

Not small potatoes
Not small potatoes
We are not small potatoes

Mr. Huang, astounded at the lyrical genius, decided to make the poem the kingdom's national anthem.

The Renovation

Soon after Mr. Huang's return, the Powers-That-Be informed Mr. Huang and many of its allies that they would be moved outside of Longfellow temporarily while Longfellow is renovated. Even worse, 109 would not be allowed to return to its home. They would be placed elsewhere. All the murals would be lost. Mr. Huang and all of 109 was devastated.

The Farewell

On April 11, 2011, new and old 109 citizens and friends of 109 gathered together for one last time to say goodbye to their home. Everyone was treated to a screening of the first 10 minutes of "Mangos and Large Potatoes", the documentary of the history of the Kingdom of 109. Mr. Huang delivered the speech "109 Is Great". Then, he led 109 away from its home on the 109 Trail of Tears. 109 was moved to Villa 52 for an indeterminate amount of time.  This period of time is known as The Exile.

The Prophecy

In a cave nestled in the eastern mountains of 109, there lived a prophetess whom Mr. Huang would visit from time to time for words of wisdom. During one visit, she prophesied that one day, the two turtles would return for him. At that time, Mr. Huang and someone else must leave the kingdom on the turtles.
The 109 Times

November 2010
January 2011
April 2011
June 2011
The Kingdom of 109 : An unconventional monarchy preserving traditional mathematics

"Not small potatoes, not small potatoes, we are not small potatoes." - The National Anthem of the Kingdom of 109

1st: Ari Ghasemian, Noah Flaxman, Peter Kim Andrew Markis
2nd: Tim Cha, Saroja Erabelli, Sara Kim, Daniel Ju
4th: Shivani Saboo, Ava Lakmazaheri, Tina Chai, Steven Pyon
5th: Victoria Bergeron, Meghan O'Reilly, Jesse Cai, Olivia Giaquinto
6th: Justin Sher, Junyoung Hwang, Pritha Sandell, Jack Martin


Sami Youaw, Julianna Kang, Erin Atak, Maddie Shaw

Skill Drills Champions

Mira Sridharan, Peter Kim - 15

109 Awards

Best Explainer
​1st: Zoe Le Menestrel
2nd: Saroja Erabelli
4th: Paula Jaramillo
5th: Irene Song
6th: Autumn Brenner

Best Penmanship
1st: Lyric Yu
2nd: Sara Kim
4th: Thomas Kelty
5th: Yerim Kim
6th: Autumn Brenner

Best Student
1st: Matt Evanko
2nd: Saroja Erabelli
4th: Ava Lakmazaheri
​5th: Jesse Cai
6th: Autumn Brenner

Biggest Mouth
​1st: Noah Flaxman
2nd: Tim Cha
4th: Eliott Kim
5th: Jake Barnett
6th: Jack Martin

Most Improved
1st: Allison Meakem
4th: Brendan Healy
5th: Meaghan O'Reilly
6th: Zach Glissman