The Kingdom of 109 : An unconventional monarchy preserving traditional mathematics

"Not small potatoes, not small potatoes, we are not small potatoes." - The National Anthem of the Kingdom of 109
K109 History: 2005-06

The 109 Flag and Motto

In 2005-06, when it was time to design a national flag, Mr. Huang accepted submissions from the best artists in the land. He chose Luke Cheng's design. The divine motto would be printed on the flag as well. This time, Mr. Huang accepted nominations from the citizens. The candidates were: Quod erat demonstratum, Mathematica defensor, Ad infintum, Vivat rex and Mathematica ad nauseam. On February 24, "Mathematica ad nauseam" won in a landslide with 66% of the vote. When supporters of the other mottos threatened to secede from the union, Mr. Huang showed them that because Greyson Lewis was absent on voting day, there were exactly 109 citizens who voted. This was enough to convince the would-be rebels that the choice was one of divine providence (Greyson had not been absent yet that year). 

The Flagbearer

In the 4th quarter, 109 instituted the office of Flagbearer.  Flagbearers are elected by each period by a majority vote.  The 109 flag is carried by the flagbearer for fire drills, end-of-quarter festivities and special occasions.

The Datemaster

During 2nd quarter, Mr. Huang got tired of Meredith Doherty each day asking him what the date was.  He then charged Meredith with writing the day's date on the front board each morning and dubbed her Datemaster.  When 3rd quarter began, Abby Evans became the first elected Datemaster.  Ever since, the two have quarreled over who was actually "first datemaster".

109 Website Launched

In the spring of 2006, 109 launched the 109 website.  Originally, the website only contained back issues of the 109 Times and a gallery of photos.  The site reached 1000 hits in the fall of 2006.
The 109 Times

November 2005
January 2006
April 2006
June 2006
Flagbearers (4th quarter)

1st: Abby Evans
2nd: Kaitlynn Mosier
4th: Lawrence Diao
5th: Chris Pauliukonis
7th: Madeleine Giaquinto


Meredith Doherty, Abby Evans, Seungin Sohn

Skill Drills Champion

​Seungin Sohn - 18

The 109 Awards

Best Explainer
​1st: Seungin Sohn
2nd: Suyeon Son
4th: Luke Cheng
5th: Grace Reddish
7th: Abby Dean

Best Penmanship
​1st: Linda Kim
2nd: Paige Sullivan
4th: Han Kim
5th: Brittany McCray
7th: Charlotte Johnson

Best Student
​1st: Andrew Rowberg
2nd: Ashu Goel
4th: Luke Knepper
5th: Zeynep Arslan
7th: Naomi Pitkin

Biggest Mouth
​1st: Yara Alemi
2nd: Trager Metge
4th: Lawrence Diao
5th: Chris Pauliukonis
7th: Stephen Gayle